Requirements for Membership and Certification

Requirements for Membership and Certification 2017-07-11T16:04:10+00:00

Requirements to Become a Member

The Association is comprised of local government officials and employees who provide services to the public through the offices of the Public Administrator, Public Guardian and Public Conservator in California’s 58 counties. To become a member you must:

  1. Be employed in a Public Administrator’s, Public Guardian’s, or Public Conservator’s office in one of the 58 counties and
  2. Have written approval of the Principal member of the Association or his or her designee

Requirements for Certification

PLEASE NOTE: new certification criteria went into effect July 1, 2017. Click here to learn more.

Eligibility For Certification By The Association 

  1. Member in good standing of the Association (payment of membership dues and county fees current)
  2. Compliance with and upholding of the Code of Ethics of the Association
  3. Forty (40) credit hours of continuing education every 4 years. The training must be given by a provider, which has been approved by the Association.

Historical Exemption: If a member had less than 30 credit hours of training and a “Certificate of Completion” had not been obtained by June 30, 2007 or 2008 (based on the implementation of California legislation requiring certification by the Association), the member had to complete 40 credit hours of training for certification. Any credit hours accumulated within the previous four year period was applied to the 40 credit hours requirement.

PLEASE NOTE: Certification is based on a fiscal calendar year from July 1 – June 30. For example, if a member completes 40 hours of certification training by November 1, 2016, their certification date will be June 30, 2017.

Penalties for Non-compliance

If a member does not meet the 40 hour requirement in 4 years, they will be noted in the system as non-certified and to be in compliance must by the end of the second four-year period meet 40 hours in the 4 years as well as any additional hours not completed in the prior 4-year certification window.

Example: If a member completes 35 certification hours in a 4-year window, the subsequent 4-year certification window would be the standard 40 hours required as well as the additional 5 hours not completed in the prior certification window. This penalty is cumulative each 4-year cycle.